Keep On Working - Pete Townshend - Empty Glass (Vinyl, LP, Album)

Powered by CITE. Missing lyrics by Pete Townshend? Know any other songs by Pete Townshend? Don't keep it to yourself! Add it Here. Create a new account. With a username like yours, you should be embarrased of your ingnorance of it.

WTF, man? Much appreciated No vote for you! And I know almost everything in Johns live rig, what basses he's used, and his expressions at their last show before Keith Moon died. Therefore, I am better than you at everything except reviewing :upset:. I voted for you for your G n R Appetite For Destruction review this 'morn before you even posted in here You should know better then to rile a fellow Who fan, my little bass banging friend This Message Edited On Another very good review.

I've never heard anything from Townshend's solo career, but this sounds like something I'd dig, if you're comparing it favourably to Who albums. After all, you like X and the Who. Good review. I shall check this album out. This is a very good album. Fully deserving of it's given four stars. Really a follow up to Who Are You, as it's the next collection of Townshend songs that was put out. And it is superior to that album on every level.

After that his output became spotty at best as he became more involved in other things, and musical experimentation to some extent. And while his "Best Of" albums are decent enough, for Pete those can be a mixed bag as well.

Originally released on Atco Who mastermind Pete Townshend's strongest solo record was born in a hailstorm of despair, uncertainty, and tribulation. With the once viscerally powerful Who in limbo, the guitarist nearly sunk himself into brandy-drenched oblivion. He emerged with one of his most gripping solo pieces and--perhaps unsurprisingly--the most Who-like album of all his solo work.

Pete plunges into his familiar themes of aging, sexuality, and spiritual decay with fervor, desperation, and commitment. Also of note are Townshend's vocals. Through the entire album, whether on the radio-ready paean to Meher Baba "Let My Love Open the Door," the bracing "Rough Boys," or the sublime "A Little Is Enough," his vocals are hanging on the edge of a cliff, presumably dangling over a certain death.

Add to Cart. Electric Light Orchestra. Does not apply to gift orders. Listen Now. Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. Sample this album. Title by Artist. By placing your order, you agree to our Terms of Use. Customer reviews. How are ratings calculated?

Instead, our system considers things like how recent a review is and if the reviewer bought the item on Amazon. It also analyses reviews to verify trustworthiness. Top reviews Most recent Top reviews. Top reviews from United Kingdom. There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later. By Artist. By Album. About Empty Glass Empty Glass, released in , is the first solo album of original material, and third album overall, by Pete Townshend.

Year: Song Duration 1 Rough Boys. Let My Love Open the Door. Wednesday 20 May Thursday 21 May Friday 22 May Saturday 23 May Sunday 24 May Monday 25 May Tuesday 26 May Wednesday 27 May Thursday 28 May Friday 29 May Saturday 30 May Sunday 31 May Monday 1 June Tuesday 2 June Thursday 4 June Friday 5 June Saturday 6 June Sunday 7 June Monday 8 June Tuesday 9 June Monday 15 June Tuesday 16 June Wednesday 17 June Friday 19 June Saturday 20 June Sunday 21 June Monday 22 June Tuesday 23 June Wednesday 24 June Thursday 25 June Friday 26 June Saturday 27 June Sunday 28 June Monday 29 June Tuesday 30 June

Keep On Working: B2: Cat's In The Cupboard: See more tracks * Items below may differ depending on the release. No Vinyl+CDR Listed For Sale: pete townshend.

8 Replies to “Keep On Working - Pete Townshend - Empty Glass (Vinyl, LP, Album)”

  1. View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Vinyl release of Empty Glass on Discogs. Label: ATCO Records - K ,ATCO Records - SD • Format: Vinyl LP, Album • Country: UK • Genre: Rock • Style: Rock & Roll, Classic Rock/5(85).
  2. Limited Edition Heavyweight Gram Clear Vinyl. Remastered At Abbey Road With Half-Speed Mastering Process. Considered by Pete Townshend to be his first 'real' solo album 'Empty Glass' was also to become his most commercially successful/5().
  3. With this album (now CD), Pete stands on his own musically, and not that he didn't before. One must admit that "Tommy" and "Quadrophenia" are monster works. One can say of somewhat twentieth-century operatic value. But, with this album, Pete can still cut some good tunes, and they are much more mature than the "Meaty, Beaty, Big, and Bouncy" days/5().
  4. Jun 25,  · Specialty Records Corporation pressing denoted by "SP" suffix in label matrices. Differs from other Specialty press by Tim Young lacquer cut. Variant 5 also has EAST stamped into label as in Pete Townshend - Empty Glass, but does not have "CH" on label. Additional recording at Eel Pie Studios and Air Studios with Steve Nye engineering.4/5(62).
  5. Introduced byColumbia Records in , it was soon adopted as a new standard by the entire record industry. Pete Townshend, Empty Glass, Album,LP, Vinyl, ATCO Records,Keep On Working | eBay Skip to main content.
  6. Limited Edition Heavyweight Gram Clear Vinyl. Remastered At Abbey Road With Half-Speed Mastering Process. Considered by Pete Townshend to be his first ‘real’ solo album ‘Empty Glass’ was also to become his most commercially successful. Whereas ‘Who Came First’ was a devotional album and ‘Rough Mix’ a collaboration, Townshend had no such restrictions on this release.
  7. Pete Townshend was heading toward collapse as the '70s turned into the '80s. He had battled a number of personal demons throughout the '70s, but he started spiraling downward after Keith Moon's death, questioning more than ever why he did what he did (and this is a songwriter who always asked questions). Signs of that crept out on Face Dances, but he saved a full-blown exploration of his.
  8. Empty Glass is the second solo studio album by English rock musician Pete Townshend, and his first composed of original material, released on 21 April by Atco Records.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *